Office of the State Superintendent of Education

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Teacher Certification

The following types of teacher credentials are issued by the District of Columbia. All credential types allow the holder to serve as a regular teacher in the subject area(s) as indicated on the credential.

Initial Teacher Credential Initial teacher credentials are nonrenewable certifications that are issued to applicants who meet certain requirements, but do not yet qualify for a standard (e.g., full) teaching credential. Initial teacher credentials expire on July 31 of the third year from the date of issuance.
Standard Teacher Credential Standard teacher credentials are renewable certifications that are issued to applicants who have successfully completed all requirements for the subject area of the credential. Standard teacher credentials are valid for four years.
Added Teacher Endorsement Credential Added teacher endorsement credentials are add-on certifications that may be issued as an additional authorization to an existing full teacher credential held in another subject area.

Please choose a menu item below for the service you are seeking: