osse

Office of the State Superintendent of Education
 

DC Agency Top Menu


-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Meet our People at OSSE: Lisa Devlin

Lisa Devlin, Management Analyst

Joined OSSE: December 2013
Hometown: Miami, FL
Education: Trinity Washington University

Must read books:

  • Faith, Michelle Larks
  • Couples Therapy, Michelle Lark
  • Who Moved My Cheese, Spencer Johnson M.D.

What brought you to DC?

I came from North Carolina to Virginia to work with troubled youth. In this line of work, I came across an amazing organization based in DC, the DC College Access Program (DC CAP). I jumped at the opportunity to work with teenagers to make sure they had access to the resources they needed to pursue post-secondary education. I loved working with DC students to help them find their way, help them identify their next steps after high school, and help them understand that there are more opportunities than a formal four-year college program.

What is a typical day like for you?

We literally assist everyone at OSSE with all their operational needs so no day is ever really “typical." However, on most days I work on travel arrangements for conferences making sure that all forms are filled out correctly and signed by all the relevant leadership contacts. I also usually help OSSE teams with small purchases on a daily basis; I help them navigate the purchasing process, processing timeframes and advise divisions on their purchasing strategy.

What is most rewarding about your work at OSSE?

My work reaches all corners of OSSE and the relationship-building is really the most rewarding experience in this role. I have learned so much under this team’s leadership. There is a lot of coaching and informal professional development opportunities here that have given me the tools necessary for personal and professional growth. There is excellent work-life balance too. In Operations we are a small, supportive, tight-knit team and that really makes coming to work every day a joy.

What’s a typical day outside out of work like for you?

Outside of work, you can usually catch me relaxing and enjoying family time. I enjoy trying new things with my 8-year old daughter. I want to make sure that she is experiencing a variety of different things so she can find out how she would like to spend her time and how she wants to live her life. I also equally enjoy “me time”, such as reading on my swing, watching new movies, volunteering and simply enjoying time alone. I really enjoy my down time, it’s what re-energizes me and gets me ready to tackle the work week when I come back to the office.


Choose a button below to learn more about OSSE: