Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of the State Superintendent of Education

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

District of Columbia History Teacher of the Year Program

This award recognizes exceptional K–12 American History teachers in the District of Columbia.

2018 District of Columbia History Teacher of the Year: Bill Stevens | Read Bill Steven’s profile

2019 District of Columbia History Teacher of the Year Nomination Process

OSSE is calling for nominations for the 2019 District of Columbia History Teacher of the Year. The 2019 award will honor exceptional elementary and secondary school teachers. Any full-time K–12 educator who teaches American history (including state and local history) as either an individual subject or as part of other subjects, such as social studies, reading, or language arts, is eligible for the award. Eligible generalist and specialist teachers in the District of Columbia are encouraged to apply. All nominated teachers must meet the following criteria:

  • Current teacher in a District of Columbia public, public charter, private or religious school;
  • At least three years of classroom teaching experience;
  • Will teach for at least one year following the award year;
  • A demonstrated commitment to teaching American history;
  • Evidence of creativity and imagination in the classroom; and
  • Effective use of documents, artifacts, historic sites, oral histories, and other primary sources to engage students with American history.

Consideration of these factors will be based on the grade level taught in order to accommodate the teaching requirements of both generalist and specialist teachers.

Nominations can be made by a student, parent, colleague, or principal or other administrator or community member familiar with the teacher’s work. Self-nominations are not accepted. Past state and national winners are not eligible. All nominations are made on the Gilder Lehrman website by completing this short nomination form with the teacher’s contact information. Nominations are due by Sunday, March 31, 2019. All nominees will be contacted by the Gilder Lehrman Institute with further instructions on submitting supporting materials.

The DC History Teacher of the Year will receive a $1,000 prize, an archive of classroom resources, leadership opportunities, and will represent DC in the National History Teacher of the Year competition.

For more information about the national award program, please visit the official website.

Service Contact: 
Annette Thacker-Bartlett
Contact Email: 
Contact Phone: 
(202) 724-7779
Contact TTY: 
Contact Suite #: 
Fifth Floor
Service Location: 

1050 First Street, NE

GIS Address: 
1050 First Street, NE