Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of the State Superintendent of Education

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Mayor Bowser Honors DC’s Top Teachers at the 2024 OSSE Educator Awards Ceremony

Monday, May 13, 2024

(Washington, DC) – Today, Mayor Muriel Bowser joined DC’s education leaders to celebrate the District’s best teachers and thank them for their leadership in our schools and dedication to the students they serve during the 8th Annual Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) Educator Awards Ceremony.

“Last week, we honored the guiding stars of our classrooms during Teacher Appreciation Week, celebrating their unwavering dedication to their students and school communities. Today, it is an honor to recognize some of the District’s best educators who go above and beyond, serving as leaders in their schools and role models for all,” said Mayor Bowser. “Congratulations to all our award-winning DC educators, and thank you to all DC teachers for your passion, commitment and everything you do for students and families.”

Held at the Kellogg Conference Hotel on the campus of Gallaudet University, the 2024 OSSE Educator Awards Ceremony honored exceptional educators for the 2023-24 year, including the 2024 DC Teacher of the Year, 2023 DC History Teacher of the Year, 2023 Milken Educator Awardee, 2024 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) state finalists and 2023 Blue Ribbon Schools. OSSE also recognized the Teachers Advisory Council and Principals Advisory Council for their outstanding service.

Attended by Mayor Bowser, DC education leaders, DC Council and educators throughout the District, the ceremony included a formal reception and buffet dinner, student emcees Alexander Deleon and Alexandra Toro from Cardozo Education Campus, a video of Stanton Elementary School student performances, and speeches by State Superintendent Dr. Christina Grant and 2024 DC Teacher of the Year Beth Barkley.

“Recognizing excellent educators is not just an act of gratitude, it’s an affirmation of the profound impact they have on shaping the intellect and character of our youth,” said State Superintendent Dr. Grant. “We are fortunate to have outstanding educators, like our 2024 DC Teacher of the Year Beth Barkley who connect with their students on a personal level, really work to understand their strengths and needs, and rally all resources to support them so that they may be successful in school and in life.”  

Ms. Barkley has taught at Cardozo Education Campus for eight years, working with newcomer students in the school’s International Academy and teaching a Human Rights and Social Action class. Prior to this, she taught English for grades 4-9 and Spanish literacy for adults at schools in El Salvador and Prince George’s County. A 2020 DC Teacher of the Year finalist and recipient of the DCPS Rubenstein Award for Highly Effective Teaching, Ms. Barkley has been rated “highly effective” by DCPS since 2017.  

The prestigious honor, awarded annually to a DC Public Schools (DCPS) or public charter school teacher who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and commitment to student achievement, comes with a $7,500 prize. Other award recipients include:  

DC Educator Awardees   

  • Beth Barkley, 2024 DC Teacher of the Year, Cardozo Education Campus  
  • Kena Allison, 2024 DC Teacher of the Year Finalist, Washington Latin Public Charter School  
  • Chad Harris, 2024 DC Teacher of the Year Finalist, Seaton Elementary School  
  • Rabiah Harris, 2024 DC Teacher of the Year Finalist, Ida B. Wells Middle School  
  • Aneesah Blount, 2024 DC Teacher of the Year Finalist, Van Ness Elementary School  
  • Kelly Maranchuck, 2023 Milken Educator Awardee, BASIS DC Public Charter School  
  • Rodger Perkins, 2023 DC History Teacher of the Year, Sojourner Truth School Public Charter School  

2024 Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching (PAEMST) State Finalists  

  • Katie Soffer, Inspired Teaching Demonstration School  
  • Samiyyah Blanford, C.W. Harris Elementary School  
  • Angelica Pozo, DC Prep Public Charter Schools - Anacostia Elementary Campus  
  • Kerel Thompson, Whittier Elementary School  

National Blue Ribbon Schools  

  • Benjamin Banneker Academic High School   
  • Our Lady of Victory High School  
  • Roots Public Charter School  
  • Washington Global Public Charter School  

Visit OSSE’s website to learn more about recognition and support opportunities for DC educators. 


Mayor Bowser X: @MayorBowser
Mayor Bowser Instagram: @Mayor_Bowser
Mayor Bowser Facebook:
Mayor Bowser YouTube: