Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of the State Superintendent of Education

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Core Knowledge Areas (Division of Early Learning)

Tuesday, May 23, 2023

The core knowledge areas (CKAs), as defined by the Office of the State Superintendent (OSSE) Division of Early Learning (DEL), outline the 13 areas of specific knowledge and skills professionals need to work effectively with all young children and families. They are aligned with the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) Standards for Early Childhood Professional Preparation, the Child Development Associate (CDA) Competency Standards and the Federal Head Start Program Early Learning Outcomes Framework.