

NOTIFICATION AND APPLICATION FOR INITIAL LICENSE

TO:	
	Name of Child Development Facility

Thank you for your interest in licensing for a child development facility.

According to Title 5-A DCMR, Chapter 1, Child Development Facilities, the Office of the State Superintendent of Education, Division of Early Learning, Licensing and Compliance Unit can issue a license to establish or maintain a child development facility for the care of a child or children under 15 years of age for a period not to exceed three years.

To apply for a license to operate a child development center, the applicant must first complete *OSSE's child development center licensing orientation*. The orientation can be completed in person or through the online licensing webinar. You will receive a certificate which must be submitted with your application. Certificates are given to those individuals who successfully complete the questionnaire at the end of the orientation. Applications submitted without the certificate will not be accepted. After completing the child development center licensing orientation, please complete the attached initial application form, return the application with the applicable license fees, and all required documentation listed on the application form issued by OSSE (5-A DCMR §103.4, §103.5, §108.2).

An application for an initial license shall include a signed declaration by the applicant, or by a person authorized to submit the application on the applicant's behalf if the applicant is not an individual, that the contents of the application and the information provided with it are true, accurate, and complete (5-A DCMR §103.6). An application will not be processed without this information.



In addition to the required documentation listed on the application form, each applicant shall submit the following documents to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education, Division of Early Learning, Licensing and Compliance Unit (LCU):

Document	Purpose	Agency
Documentation of completion of Criminal Background Checks and Child Protection Register Checks for applicant	5A DCMR §132: Suitability for Employment	OSSE 810 First St. NE, Ninth Floor Washington, DC 20002
Qualifications of the Director (if hired by time of application)	5A DCMR §164: Director Qualifications and Responsibilities	
Certificate of Occupancy or Home Occupancy Permit: Select a location. The Certificate of Occupancy should include the following: child care center, the maximum number of infants and children to be cared for, hours of operation, and number of staff. Note: If you apply for a 24-hour child development center license, you must inform the Zoning Division when you apply for the Certificate of Occupancy.	5A DCMR §103: Application for Initial License Premises are suitable for the operation of a child care facility and or home	Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs (DCRA), Building and Land Regulation Administration, Zoning Division 1100 Fourth Street, SW, Second Floor Washington, DC 20024 (202) 442-4400 https://dcra.dc.gov/page/construction-codes-laws-and-regulations-0
Fire Safety Inspection Certification	5A DCMR §103: Application for Initial License Ensure facility fire safety laws, regulations, and codes	Fire and EMS Department 2000 14th Street, NW, Fifth Floor Washington, DC 20009 (202) 673-3320 https://fems.dc.gov/
Lead-based Paint Certification or Clearance Report (not more than 30 days prior to the application date)	5A DCMR §103: Application for Initial License Ensure that the facility is free of any lead-based paint hazards	Department of Energy and Environment 1200 First Street NE Washington, DC 20002 (202) 535-2600 https://doee.dc.gov/
Certificate of Clean Hands (issued within thirty days of the date the application is submitted)	5A DCMR §103: Application for Initial License Verification that an applicant does not owe more than \$100 to the District of Columbia	District of Columbia Department of Tax and Revenue 1101 Fourth Street, SW, Suite 270 West Washington, DC 20024 (202) 727-4829 http://otr.cfo.dc.gov/
Proof of Insurance that includes a reasonable coverage (i.e., commercial	5A DCMR §103: Application for Initial License	District of Columbia of Office Risk Management One Judiciary Square

general liability, umbrella "Follow		441 Fourth Street, NW Suite 800 South
Form" liability, sexual abuse and		Washington, DC 20001
molestation liability, and vehicle		(202) 727-8600
liability)		https://orm.dc.gov/
Notarized Building Use Agreement	5A DCMR §103: Application for Initial	OSSE
	License	810 First St. NE, Ninth Floor
		Washington, DC 20002

Three Year License Fees

Initial License Fees (3-year license)				
	Applicable Fee			
Application and Pre-Licensure Inspection Fee	\$ 75.00			
Child Development Center, 1 - 50 Children	\$600.00			
Child Development Center, 51 - 100 Children	\$900.00			
Child Development Center, 101 - 175 Children	\$1,200.00			
Child Development Center, Over 175 Children	\$1,500.00			

Upon receipt of a completed application for an initial license, and prior to the issuance of the license, an on-site inspection will be conducted to determine whether the facility is in compliance with the child development facility regulation (5 A DCMR §103.8). During the initial license inspection a Statement of Deficiencies may be issued if a Facility is out of compliance or is deficient in any way (5A DCMR §103.9). After receipt of notification from the applicant that every stated deficiency has been corrected, a follow-up application review and inspection or inspections as needed will be conducted to determine whether the Facility is in compliance.

You must sign your initial license application form, include the appropriate license fees, and submit a copy of your child development center licensing orientation certificate. Failure to provide a completed application within 90 days of the initial submission may result in your application being denied.

Clement Idun Program Manager