Office of the State Superintendent of Education

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teaching. The Awards were established by Congress in 1983. The President may recognize up to 108 exemplary teachers each year.

Awards are given to science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teachers from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Department of Defense Education Activity schools, or the US territories as a group (American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and US Virgin Islands).

The award recognizes those teachers have both deep content knowledge of the subjects they teach and the ability to motivate and enable students to be successful in those areas. Since the program's inception, more than 4,800 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

Awardees reflect the expertise and dedication of the Nation's teaching corps, and they demonstrate the positive impact of excellent teachers on student achievement. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

District of Columbia Recent PAEMST Awardees

On Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2019 the White House announced the most recent recipients of the PAEMST award, including these teachers from the District of Columbia.

  • Brittany Lewis, K-6 Mathematics, DC Prep Public Charter School Anacostia Campus
  • Tolulola Odukoya, K-6 Science, Dr. Charles R. Drew Elementary School
  • Mark Howell, 7-12 Mathematics, Gonzaga College High School, 2017 PAEMST Awardee
  • Cecilia Newman, 7-12 Science, Alice Deal Middle School, 2017 PAEMST Awardee

View all previous PAEMST awardees

2019 PAEMST Finalists for the District of Columbia

  • Charlene Cummings, High School Biology Teacher, DC International School
  • Ashley Kearney, High School Math Teacher, Ron Brown College Preparatory High School
  • Thomas Schutt, High School Math Teacher, Columbia Heights Education Campus
  • Will Stafford, High School Math Teacher, E.L. Haynes Public Charter School

Please note: National PAEMST awardees are selected from among state finalists and announced publicly approximately one-two years after each application cycle by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

2020 PAEMST Nomination Process

OSSE is calling for the nomination of outstanding teachers of mathematics and science to be considered for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). The Presidential Awards are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government, specifically for K-12 mathematics and science (including computer science) teaching. They seek to recognize teachers who demonstrate:

  • Mastery of mathematics or science content appropriate for the grade level taught;
  • Use of instructional methods and strategies that are appropriate for students in the class and that support student learning;
  • Effective use of student assessments to evaluate, monitor, and improve student learning;
  • Reflective practice and life-long learning to improve teaching and student learning; and
  • Leadership in education outside the classroom.

For the 2020 awards, OSSE is seeking exceptional elementary school (grades K-6) mathematics and science teachers (including computer science, technology, and engineering teachers for consideration. Recipients of the Presidential award receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, invitations to a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities, a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation, and an opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation.

Principals, teachers, parents, students, and members of the general public are encouraged to nominate exceptional elementary mathematics and science teachers by Sunday, March 1, 2020. [Nomination form] Nominations may be submitted for more than one teacher. Teachers may also initiate the application process themselves. Once nominated, the deadline for nominees to apply for consideration is Friday, May 1, 2020.

For more information about the PAEMST award program, including eligibility criteria, please visit the official PAEMST website at PAEMST.org.

For questions, please contact Annette Thacker-Bartlett at [email protected].

Service Contact: 
Annette Thacker-Bartlett
Contact Email: 
Contact Phone: 
(202) 724-7779
Contact TTY: 
Service Location: 

1050 First Street, NE

GIS Address: 
1050 First Street, NE