

## **State Board of Education**

# 441 4<sup>th</sup> Street NW, Old Council Chamber Public Meeting Agenda January 23, 2013 at 5:30pm

- I. Call to Order
- II. Announcement of a Quorum
- III. Approval of the Agenda
- IV. Election of Officers
- V. Welcome of New Board Members
- VI. Comments from the President of the DC State Board of Education
- VII. Comments from the Office of State Superintendent of Education
- VIII. Commemorating the 2<sup>nd</sup> Anniversary of William Lockridge's Passing
- IX. Reward Schools Presentations

Janice Corazza, Principal, St. Coletta Special Education PCS Amy Warden, Assistant Principal, St. Coletta Special Education PCS Carmen Shepherd, Interim Principal, Thomson Elementary School

- X. Revised Early Learning Standards Presentation Presentation by OSSE
- XI. Public Comment

Group 1

Raymond Bell, Founder and Administrator, The H.O.P.E. Project Tamara Haye Daufour, Chairperson, D.C. Financial Literacy Council Adam Tenner, Executive Director, Metro Teen AIDS Geetha Ananthakrishnan, Public Policy Coordinator, Metro Teen AIDS

Group 2 Merilyn C. Holmes, President, Total Sunshine, Inc. Krishna K. Upadhya, MD Marvin Tucker Erich Martel

Group 3 Sherve Bell, Senior, KIPP DC: College Prep Donald Hense, Chairman, Friendship Public Charter School Alexandra Pardo, Executive Director, Thurgood Marshall Academy PCHS Richard Pohlman, Chief of Operations and Policy, E.L. Haynes Public Charter School Group 4 Brian Weaver, Hoops Sagrado Anne L. Abbott, Policy Analyst, DC Alliance of Youth Advocates David Pickens, Executive Director of DC School Reform Now Kirsten B. Hawkins, MD, MPH, FAAP, Georgetown University

### Group 5

Bryon Sweeney, Special Education Teacher, Dunbar HS
Cathy Reilly, Executive Director, Senior High Alliance of Parents, Principals and Educators (S.H.A.P.P.E.)
Cosby Hunt, Manager of Teaching & Learning, Center for Inspired Teaching
Dan Gordon, Deputy Chief Academic Officer, District of Columbia Public Schools

Group 6 - MD Candidates, The George Washington University Julie Gibbons Daniel O'Neill Nisha Narayanan Alexander Tauras

Group 7 - Young Women's Project Jonohua Brown, Youth Staff Sade Brown, Youth Staff J'znee Currie, Youth Staff Kemry Glover, Youth Staff Brittany Walden, Youth Staff Nadia Gold-Moritz, Executive Director

#### Group 8

Nancy Schoenfeld, Executive Director, American Academy of Pediatrics, DC Chapter Dr. Robert Gundling, Deputy Operating Officer, Sunshine Early Learning Center Frances J. Rollins, President, District of Columbia Association for the Education of Young Children (DCAEYC)

Louise M. Kennelly, Executive Director, DC Arts and Humanities Education Collaborative

Group 9 Dr. Victoria Moseley

#### XII. Closing Comments

XIII. Adjournment